Jukka Tolonen Band - JTB (1979

 Jukka Tolonen biography
Born in Helsinki in 1952 Jukka Tolonen co founded in 1969 the rock/jazz fusion band Tasavallan Presidentti, who recorded four critically acclaimed albums from 1969 to 1974. During this time, Tolonen also recorded two albums with the Finnish Prog band Wigwam.
In 1971 Tolonen recorded his self titled debut recording presenting a mixture of jazz-rock and folk, followed by "Summer Games"(1972), "The Hook"(1972), "Hysterica"(1974) all in the same musical direction. Thanks to his solo records as well as his participations with Tasavallan Presidentti and Wigwam, Tolonen became very popular in Finland and to a lesser extent in Europe and the USA.

In the mid seventies Tolonen formed the Jukka Tolonen Band, featuring Swedish guitarist Coste Apetrea (ex Samla/Zamla) and presenting a more polished jazz-funk. The JTP released a couple of excellent records among them the live album "Montreux Boogie". In 1978 he released the solo acoustic album "Mountain Stream".
Throughout the 80's Tolonen touched other musical styles, recorded a classic acoustic guitar duet with Coste Apetrea and in 1982 a reggae album. He continued to be active on stage, in several line-ups including Bill's Boogie Band with Swedish vocalist/percussionist Bill Öhrström and participated in Jim Pembroke's short lived project, Filthy Rich and recorded with Finnish world fusion band Piirpauke.
During the nineties, Jukka has been working in a "mainstream" rock format with the Jukka Tolonen Trio and recorded again with Piirpauke. In 1999 Tolonen joined the reformed Tasavallan Presidentti who released a live record, "Still Struggling For Freedom" in 2001, followed by a new studio record "Six Complete" in 2006.
..../...,this is an excellent album,that was available on I-Tunes,and OOP cd.Snagged it and was very pleased with the quality of the album.It is high octane funky jazzy rockin' album.High quality musicians including another superb guitarist Coste Apetrea and Joachim Kuhn on keys. This is to me unusual with 2 guitar players with this kind of music.Jukka and Coste swap solo after solo and they are sharp and snappy.The album is instrumental with the exception when somebody say Rock'n roll after 10 seconds,and yes indeed,off we fly.

Have enjoyed several of Jukka's output and this is probably my favorite or second along with 'Passenger from Paramaribo,that has pretty much the same members.(excluding Tasavallan Presidentti).

If you like Return to forever ,Billy Cobham,a dash of Passport ,maybe some Eleventh House,you should be good with this one.
gr8dane | 4/5 | 2011-6-1

Studio Album, released in 1979
 Tracks Listing

2.Space Cookie
3.Grand Hotel
4.Ping Pong
5.Riven Cocos
6.Dancing Bear
7.Soita Saatana
8.Arka Haiven
9.Funky Nightmare
10.Ide & Lardoms Historien/Lilla Lule Alv (CD bonustrack)


-Jukka Tolonen/ guitars
-Coste Apetrea/ guitars
-Christer Eklund/ bass
-Harri Merilahti/ drums
-Bill carson/ drums,percussion
-Joachim Kuhn/ keyboards, piano