Lighthouse - Thoughts Of Movin' On - 1971


 Originally formed in 1968, this legendary Canadian horn-rock band spanned rock 'n' roll,
 jazz, progressive, and classical music. Released in December 1971,
 "Thoughts Of Movin' On" was their fifth album,
 and appeared on the legendary Vertigo imprint in the UK.
It makes its long-overdue CD debut here.-------------------------------
The album neatly spits in two halves, with side one generally containing the upbeat numbers, and side two the ballads and powerful slower songs.

The opening "Take it slow" was released as a reasonably successful single in the US and Canada, the strong hook making it the obvious choice. "Fly my aeroplane", "Rockin' chair" and "What gives you the right" continue the upbeat radio friendly pop rock sound the band had adopted for the previous album ("One fine morning"). "I just wanna be your friend" was also released as a single, the Three Dog Night like harmonic arrangement making for an instantly appealing, if largely unchallenging song.

"Walk me down" sees the pace drop for this delicate ballad with lush mellotron orchestration. The late Bob McBride's vocal here is one of the finest he recorded during his time with the band. The track sets the mood for much of the second side, which has the longer, generally slower songs. "You and me" is another reflective ballad with good keyboard work and a CSNY sound. The track plays out with some nice flute.

If side was primarily upbeat, with one ballad, side two's softer atmosphere is interrupted by the Russ Ballard like "Insane". "I'd be so happy" is a wonderful power ballad which the aforementioned Three Dog Night truncated and included on their "Hard Labor" album. The strong song writing here is complemented by a superb arrangement. The album closes with "I'm gonna try to make it", another reflective piece featuring a strong brass arrangement and melodic harmonies.

"Thoughts of moving on" does exactly what it says on the tin. It finds Lighthouse moving in a more commercial direction while retaining their emphasis on strong arrangements and tight performances. While the album does not offer anything particularly challenging it does represent a highly enjoyable experience.
Review by Easy Livin 'progarchives'

 More info:

Studio Album, released in 1971

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Take It Slow (Out In The Country) (3:07)
2. What Gives You The Right (3:19)
3. You And Me (4:47)
4. Fly My Airplane (3:42)
5. I'd Be So Happy (4:01)
6. I Just Wanna Be Your Friend (3:07)
7. I'm Gonna Try To Make It (3:52)
8. Rockin' Chair (3:35)
9. Walk Me Down (3:49)
10. Insane (3:53)

Total time 37:12

Line-up / Musicians

- Bobby McBride / lead vocals, percussion
- Ralph Cole / guitar, vocals
- Paul Hoffert / keyboards, vibraphone
- Louis Yacknin / bass
- Skip Prokop / drums, percussion, vocals
- Don Dinovo / electric violina
- Richard Armin / electric cello
- Keith Jollimore / flute, saxophone, vocals
- Howard Shore / flute, saxophone, lead (3) & backing vocals
- Mike Malone / trumpet, flugelhorn
- Larry Smith / trombone, vocals

Genre: Progressive/Jazz Rock Label: Prog Temple (PTCD8050) [Reissue 2016]


No comments: