Achim Reichel & Machines · Echo (1972) +IV (1973) = 2 on 1

A.R. & Machines biography
Producer, composer and musician from Hamburg (Germany), Achim Reichel is a key figure in the explosion of krautrock. Reichel was first a founder member of "The Rattles" at the beginning of the 60's. In 1968 he formed the "Wonderland band" with the drummer Frank Dostal. Late 60's he launched his first solo musical project called A.R and the machines. Musically it provides a supreme sonic musical voyage turned to cycled psychedelic guitar playing with lot of echoes and delay. The first album was published in 1971 in collaboration with Frank Dostal. The album presents an ambitious collection of spacey rock jams featuring a lot of electronic effects and arrangements. This album prefigures "acid" trips of krautrock guitar / minimal electronic explorers like Manuel Gottsching. The guitar freakouts and the weird imagination of the first effort continue to prevail in the following inspired, confused and various Die Grune Reise, A.R. IV, Autovision (generally a mix between guitar soudscapes and psych pop orientated songs). Reichel decided to abandon the project after 5 studio albums. Today A.R and the machines remains a high class standard of hypnotic space-echo guitar inventions.

: : : Philippe Blache, FRANCE : : :

Echo · 1972:
1 Einladung (Invitation) 20:25
2 Das Echo der Gegenwart (The echo of the presence) 10:04
3 Das Echo der Zeit (The echo of time) 13:04
4 Das Echo der Zukunft (The echo of the future) 18:00
5 Das Echo der Vergangenheit (The echo of the past) 19:32
Total Time: 81:05

Vocals: Achim Reichel, Klaus Schulze, Matti Klatt
Guitar: Achim Reichel, Helmuth Franke
Clarinet: Norbert Jacobsen
Jew's Harp: Arthur Carstens
Saxophone: Jochen Petersen
Drums: Dicky Tarrach, Lemmy Lembrecht
Percussion: Hans Lampe, Kalle Trapp, Lemmy Lembrecht, Rolf Köhler


IV · 1973:
1 Vita a) cave explorers + birdmen 5:25
2 Vita b) the man in kidleather 10:43
3 Vita c) thin is the skin of ecstasy 5:47
4 Aqua: every raindrop longs for the sea 23:00
Total Time: 44:55

Achim Reichel: Guitar
Helmuth Franke: Guitar
Frank Wulf: Sitar
Hans Hartmann: Double Bass (still active with live concerts every week in Berlin)
Claus-Robert Kruse: Electric Piano
Jochen Petersen: Soprano Saxophone, Flute
Hans Boche: Drums
Matti Klatt: Percussion
Olaf Casalich: Percussion
Conny Plank: Engineer


For lossy click link below :
Achim Reichel & Machines · Echo (1972) +IV (1973) = 2 on 1


progDeaf gerEars said...

Copy Comment by PAUL on

"Thank you very much my friend. I've just heard "Echo" and think its absolutely marvellous. Another band like Alrune Rod that don't sound like anyone else. Thanks to J Cope for bringing them to my attention and to you for letting me hear them in good quality flac. (I had a poor mp3 copy of the original vinyl which didn't do it justice at all). Now I can't wait to hear "IV". Thanks a million"

Thank you Paul for this nice comment -;)

the saucer people said...

Wonderful to find a FLAC rip of this CD! I can't thank you enough for sharing it, I can finally update my low quality rips. The hand-full of Achim Reichel albums are amongst the very best kosmische ever released in my opinion and have such a timeless quality that his music is constantly being re-discovered by new generations of fans.

An excellent post!

radisnoir said...

thank you

Anonymous said...

Did'nt know the great Conny Plank participated in this. Thanx for providing such complete info. Cheers from Argentina.

propylaen2001 said...

Great upload! Many thanks for sharing!
These are my favourite albums from his Machines era.

Anonymous said...

Thank you very much for the lossless upload. A question: my other lossy copy has a fifth track called "The Echo Of The Past" that comprises side 4 of the vinyl LP edition, and clocks in at 19 minutes and 47 seconds. Did you happen to leave it off by mistake?

Thanks again!

Anonymous said...

Disregard that last comment -- I found track 5 in the second rar file for "IV".