Frumpy - 1990 - Now

Frumpy was a German progressive rock/krautrock band based in Hamburg, which was active between 1970–1972 and 1990–1995.
Formed after the break-up of folk rockers The City Preachers,
 Frumpy released four albums in 1970–1973 and achieved considerable commercial success.
 The German press hailed them as the best German rock band of their time and their vocalist Inga Rumpf [de]
as the "greatest individual vocal talent" of the contemporary German rock scene.
They disbanded in 1972 although the various members all worked together at various times over the following two
 decades and they reunited again in 1989, producing three more albums over five years after which they disbanded once more.

In 1989, Rumpf, Bohn and Kravetz reformed Frumpy and released two albums, Now! (1990) and News (1991) but by 1992
 the members had moved in different directions and the group was once more disbanded in 1995
1 stars Can't say that I'm surprised to be the first person reviewing this album. It's excessively hard to find, and it took me many weeks of combing blogs to unearth a download. Sadly, there is good reason for this obscurity: this album is a horror. Not only does it deviate entirely from Frumpy's amazing output in the 70's, it replaces the glorious swell of keyboards and general psychedelic discursion with poppy balladry and choruses that are repeated, thunderously, again and again and again. The end result is something that Michael Jackson might have cut on a bad night, and bears no resemblance to anything the band previously recorded. Some lost albums are hidden gems, and some are cast into obscurity for good reason. Tragically, Now! belongs to the latter category, especially tragic since the album saw a complete reunited lineup of the musicians that originally made this band spectacular. Seek out at your own considerable peril.
Lozlan | 1/5 | 2010-2-25

Studio Album, released in 1990

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. What It Is (4:13)
2. When I Fall In Love (4:47)
3. Good Good Feeling (3:58)
4. We Can Sing A Song (4:58)
5. One World (3:27)
6. Come On! (5:10)
7. Pirate Style (4:48)
8. Come Together! (4:59)
9. Now And Forever (4:46)
10. All We Need Is Music (6:18) *
11. Living In A Madhouse (3:30)
12. Love Train (4:21) *
13. Now The Gypsy Is Born (6:38) *

* Bonus on CD

Total time 61:53

Line-up / Musicians

- Inga Rumpf / lead & backing vocals, rhythm guitars, programming
- Jean-Jacques Kravetz / keyboards, organ, grand piano
- Carsten Bohn / drums, percussion, programming, backing vocals

- Peter Maffay / lead vocals duet (9)
- Carlos Alomar / guitars, Fx, harmonica, bass (11)
- Rainer Baumann / guitar solo (13)
- Christian Wilckens / sax solo (6)
- Pascal Kravetz / keyboards (13), chorus vocals
- Reggie Worthy / bass, chorus vocals
- Oumar Koita / African percussion
- Jaquie Virgil / backing vocals
- Jocelyn B. Smith / backing vocals
- Victoria Miles / backing vocals
- Themba / African choir
- Ndlovu / African choir
- Johnny Cassens / African choir
- Jabu Zikalala / African choir
- Victor Williams / African choir
- Alsterspatzen / children´s choir
- Teresa Douglas / rapping
- Niko Muller / co-arranger & co-producer


No comments: