Amon Duul II - Tanz der Lemminge (1971) RE-POST

Studio Album, released in 1971


Outside of Germany, this album is known as "Dance of the Lemmings". This third album finds these Krautrock pioneers at the top of their game, as far as experimentation goes. And this album, like its predecessor, Yeti, was originally released as a double LP set. The first two sides of "Tanz..." consists of bizarre music, consisting of vocals, jams, and bizarre effects. The third side consist of nothing but spacy experimental effects that sound a whole lot like Alpha Centauri-era TANGERINE DREAM (who were their contemporaries, after all). This stuff would fit find on Rolf Ulrich Kaiser's Ohr label (the label TD, ASH RA TEMPEL, the original AMON DÜÜL with their album Para Dieswierts Düül, and others recorded for), although released on United Artists in America and presumably Liberty in Germany.

Then the final side simply consists of lengthy guitar-jams. The only thing preventing me for giving this album a five star is the occasional excess baggage brought on by the fact this is a double album meaning the band ended up losing a bit of direction in places. But still, if you enjoy CAN's "Tago Mago" but wondered how that album might be like if that band didn't rely so much on grooves and went for a more musical, psychedelic direction, this is a great album to try. For the rest of you, still a recommended album for the adventurous listener.


1. Syntelman's March of the Roaring Seventies (15:50)
- In The Glassgarden (1:39)
- Pull Down Your Mask (4:39)
- Prayer To The Silence (1:04)
- Telephonecomplex (8:26)

2. Restless Skylight-Transistor-Child (19:33)
- Landing In A Ditch (1:12)
- Dehynotized Toothpaste (0:52)
- A Short Stop St The Transylvanian Brain Surgery (5:00)
- Race From Here To Your Ears
a) Little Tornadoes (2:08)
b) Overheated Tiara (1:46)
c) The Flyweighted Five (1:26)
- Riding On A Cloud (2:33)
- Paralized Paradise (3:07)
- HG Well's Take Off (1:26)

Chamsin Soundtrack
3. The Marilyn Monroe-Memorial-Church (18:09)
4. Chewing Gum Telegram (2:45)
5. Stumbling over Melted Moonlight (4:38)
6. Toxicological Whispering (7:48)

Total Time: 68:43


- Karl-Heinz Hausmann / electronics
- Chris Karrer / acoustic & electric guitars, violin, vocals
- Peter Leopold / drums, percussion, piano
- Lothar Meid / bass, double bass, vocals
- Falk U. Rogner / organ, electronics
- John Weinzierl / acoustic & electric guitars, vocals, piano
+ Al Gromer / sitar
- Jimy Jackson / organ, piano, choir
- Henriette Kroetenschwanz / vocals
- Rolf Zacher / vocals

CD Repertoire REP 4276WY 1997

===>Amon Duul II - Tanz der Lemminge<===


ASDLR said...

You, my friend, will go to Heaven. Thank you for keeping good music alive.

ASDLR said...

Links are dead, unfortunately. Thanks a the re-up

progDeaf gerEars said...

Links alive , please have a nice day -;)

ASDLR said...

Wonderful. I wish you the best

apf said...

Thank you!