Nektar - A Tab In The Ocean 1972

Formed in November 1969 and still going strong
3 Gold album presentations (when gold was 250,000 sales)
18 albums to their credit
Charting albums in the USA and album of the year in Europe
 5.0 out of 5 stars Nektar - 'A Tab In The Ocean' 
Mike Reed "Mike Reed" (USA) 
This review is from: A Tab In The Ocean Deluxe Edition 2-disc (Audio CD)

Initially saw the light of day in 1972, as this is Nektar's most accomplished record - even to this date. Believe this is the band's second lp. At first I couldn't put down this (much-welcomed) 2-CD expanded reissue. Couldn't get enough of the sixteen-minute ground-breaking (in a sense) out-standing timeless progressive gem title cut "A Tab In The Ocean", the powerful "Waves" and "King Of Twilight". First time I heard disc one - it sort of reminded me of maybe Yes-meets-Emerson Lake & Palmer. Disc two continues to show Nektar's true musical genius with tunes like "New Day Dawning", the brilliant "Gooday" and "The Life I've Been Leading". This was my first time of hearing the 'original' album version of the song "A Tab In The Ocean" - previously, I have only heard it on their 'Live 2002' 2-CD piece that I purchased awhile back shortly after I finally gained full-access to the Internet. Again like it's follow-up 'Sounds Like This' - 'A Tab In The Ocean' appears to have several pressings / versions of this CD available. Highly recommended for fans of early Genesis, Emerson Lake & Palmer, pre-1975 Pink Floyd and Supertramp.
 5.0 out of 5 stars Nektar is Great, June 2, 2012
Music lover 

This review is from: A Tab In The Ocean Deluxe Edition 2-disc (Audio CD)
I Just Received A Tab in the Ocean.I've Wanted This Album For While now and With the Bonus (Boston Tapes Recordings)It Doesn't Get Any Better.It Came Fast.Professional Packaging.Don't Pay Any Attention to These One Star Reviews.Very Satisfied.Thanks.

Tracklist :

01. A Tab In The Ocean (16:50)
02. Desolation Valley/Waves (8:13)
03. Crying In The Dark (6:28)
04. King Of Twilight (4:20)

CD2 - In The Beginning - The Boston Tapes
01. New Day Dawning (5:36)
02. Do You Believe in Magic (3:39)
03. Candlelight (4:00)
04. Gooday (8:53)
05. The Life I've Been Leading (4:35)
06. Where Did You Go (5:27)
07. Sealed With A Kiss (3:55)
08. Our Love Will Last Forever (4:53)

- Roye Albrighton / guitars, vocals
- Mick Brockett / liquid lights
- Allan Freeman / keyboards, backing vocals, Mellotron
- Ron Howden / drums, percussion, backing vocals
- Derek "Mo" Moore / bass, vocals

Free Text;
 Nektar - A Tab In The Ocean (1972 - 2011, ItsAboutMusic) 2CD Deluxe
First posted by Val on B H&H

No comments: