Lightnin Hopkins - Just sittin down thinkin (Compil 1993)

Sam Hopkins was a Texas country bluesman of the highest caliber whose career began in the 1920s and stretched all the way into the 1980s. Along the way, Hopkins watched the genre change remarkably, but he never appreciably altered his mournful Lone Star sound, which translated onto both acoustic and electric guitar. Hopkins' nimble dexterity made intricate boogie riffs seem easy, and his fascinating penchant for improvising lyrics to fit whatever situation might arise made him a beloved blues troubadour

Biography by Bill Dahl

 Hopkins' style was born from spending many hours playing informally without a backing band. His distinctive fingerstyle playing often included playing, in effect, bass, rhythm, lead, percussion, and vocals, all at the same time. He played both "alternating" and "monotonic" bass styles incorporating imaginative, often chromatic turnarounds and single note lead lines. Tapping or slapping the body of his guitar added rhythmic accompaniment.

Much of Hopkins' music follows the standard 12-bar blues template but his phrasing was very free and loose. Many of his songs were in the talking blues style, but he was a powerful and confident singer. Lyrically his songs chronicled the problems of life in the segregated south, bad luck in love and other usual subjects of the blues idiom. He did however deal with these subjects with humor and good nature. Many of his songs are filled with double entendres and he was known for his humorous introductions.


Lightnin Hopkins - Just sittin down thinkin

01. just sittin down thinkin 02:39
02. don't keep my baby long 03:26
03. tell my pretty mama 02:33
04. bad luck and trouble 03:48
05. needed time 04:51
06. last affairs 03:55
07. sante fe blues 03:15
08. someday 03:00
09. jake head boogie 04:45
10. glory be 04:29
11. sometimes she will 02:33
12. shine on moon 04:26
13. have you ever loved 02:39
14. shake that thing 04:01
15. i'm leaving you now 03:53
16. walk a long time 03:57
17. bring me my shotgun 04:00
18. just pickin 01:26
19. last night 04:50
20. mojo hand 02:57

Total Playing Time 71:34

   >Lightnin Hopkins - Just sittin down thinkin (Compil 1993)<


First posted by Val on:
3/22/13 12:39 AM
Pacific Daylight Time


Anonymous said...

Is it still possible to repost this one?
Thank you. I find jewells in your blog.

progDeaf gerEars said...

Yes, it is still possible to repost this one,
enjoy this oldis jewell..... -;)

Anonymous said...

thank you.

Betão - Nova Venécia(ES) said...

Friend what's the unzip password?

progDeaf gerEars said...

The answer is in the Free Text Host friend, enjoy!