Ash Ra Tempel - Schwingungen (1972)

Ash Ra Tempel - Schwingungen (1972)[Re1993]

Studio Album, released in 1972

Songs / Tracks Listing

Light And Darkness
1. Light: Look at your Sun (6:34)
2. Darkness: Flowers must die (12:22)

3. Suche & Liebe (19:23)

Total Time: 38:19

Line-up / Musicians

- Manuel Göttsching / Guitar, organ, electronics
- Hartmut Enke / Guitar, bass, electronics
- Wolfgang Mueller / Drums, vibes

- Guests:
- John L / Vocals
- Jew Harp / Percusssion
- Matthias Wehler / Alto Sax
- Uli Popp / Bongos

Releases information

Spalax 14248

review extrait progarchives:

"Schwingungen" is ASH RA's powerful follow up to their debut album which still remains to this day one of the true space classic for this music lover. 2 big differences here on "Schwingungen" with the departure of Klaus Schulze as well as the introduction of vocals marks this album in different light than their debut album. Having said that, this album is nothing short of amazing with some pretty spaced out interludes and long epic tracks to totally blow your mind. The overall sound on "Schwingungen" is very Meddle era "PINK FLOYD" with some great hypnotic work and analog space rock movements. With heavy doses of space hymns and the inspiring guitar work of Manuel Göttsching, this album will clearly take your mind and ears into the outer zone. The album is essentially made up of 3 long tracks with the first two tracks featuring the psychedelically-eerie-like vocals of John L. The full line up was Manuel Göttsching (guitar), Hartmut Enke (bass), Wolfgang Mueller (drums), & guest: John L (vocals, jew harp, percusssion), Matthias Wehler (alto sax) and Uli Popp (bongos). I love the frenzied guitar rantings and the mix of the west coast like rhythm sections taking a somewhat R&B foundation. Overall a great album.

A bit different from their debut because of the presence of vocals. Also Klaus Schulze left, in pursuit of his famous solo career. New drummer Wolfgang Müller is in, along with, of course, guitarist Manuel Göttsching and bassist Hartmut Enke. And for a vocalist, they chose a guy by the name of John L., previously of AGITATION FREE (who got booted out of that band for being too deranged, apparently ASH RA TEMPEL felt the same was as he was given the boot after this album). Talk about an acquired taste, John L.'s voice tends to be harsh and he always sounded out of tune (he reminded me of CAN's "Malcolm Mooney", so you get sort of an idea what you'll be facing here).

The album starts off with the rather bluesy "Look at Your Sun", complete with John L.'s off-key singing. The next song, "Flowers Must Die" is basically John L. simply screaming under an intense rhythm of guitar and drums, plus the presence of sax gives it a bit of a jazzy feel. Definately party-clearing music, to say the least. The second half of the album consists of "Suche" and "Liebe". "Suche" is a rather sinister spacy piece consisting of mostly vibraphone and organ. "Liebe" is more guitar and voice (this time by Göttsching), and sounds like a cross between PINK FLOYD and ASH RA TEMPEL's debut. Amazing album...